United Nations Security Council

*Difficulty and content not recommended for Beginners*


Study Guide: Available Here

Rules of Procedure: Available Here

The United Nations Security Council is one of the six primary organizations within the UN which is tasked with a broad mandate to maintain international peace and security, accepting changes to the UN charter and accepting new member nations. It is composed of 15 member nations of which five are permanent (Russia, the United Kingdom, the United States of America, People’s Republic of China and France); permanent members can veto action by the United Nations.

This council has the right to pass a binding resolution and controls peacekeeping missions, authorities sanction and in some cases, military intervention. In a world of crises fractious to diplomatic relations, this council enables delegates to gain skills in cooperation and teamwork, as well as appreciate the need for international understanding to deal with these crises.

Agenda I

Rising Threat of Splinter Terrorist Groups in The 21st Century

Agenda II

Unrest in Iran